A glimps into the world of wildlife rehabilitation…the world through a rehabber's eyes.

Wild Cats


The North American Bobcat is quite the elusive animal. These wildcats are wide spread across the entire state of Texas, and most of the USA, southern parts of Canada, and a good portion of Mexico, but most people have never seen one outside of the internet or their local zoo.

They are adapting well to urban life. Everything they need is easily accessible in the human world, and with their ever shrinking natural habitat, I suppose at some point, I was bound to see one in “the wild”. Though I am extremely fortunate to be able to work so closely with the bobcat on a regular basis, I have never, to this point, seen one in it’s natural element.

Today was the day. Driving down the acess road of Loop 12 in Dallas (where I work), I saw a cat sitting at the very top point of a small hill near the road. Behind the clearing was plenty of dense shrubbery. As we got closer, I realized that what I was looking at was WAY too big to be your run of the mill house cat…and as I passed, I recognized a figure that I am all too familiar with…Those big, ruffed cheeks and tufted ears that I spend time with every week at WCCR.

It was an exceedingly well marked cat, well defined rosette patterning all over it’s body, a creamy white chest with bold black spots, and huge, fluffy cheeks. This bobcat appeared a bit smaller than the cats we currently have on property at WCCR, but definately healthy, and in good shape. Just sitting at the crest of the hill, watching the cars go by…bright eyed, enjoying the freezing cold weather I guess.

At least in this modern world of the viral, out of control, all consuming, species distroying population explosion that is homo sapien sapien, some other life forms are doing okay…

Leave a Reply

