A glimps into the world of wildlife rehabilitation…the world through a rehabber's eyes.

Screech Owl


Tonight, I came home from work, and walked up the front drive to prepare to take care of Abigale. On the garden stones sat a little screech owl. Fearing he was injured, I hurried towards him. He flew up onto the storm drains on the edge of the house. Across from him, on the other side of the front door was another! They were very cute, and let me get very close. They stuck around long enough for me to get a few pictures.

The amount of wildlife living in my suburban neighborhood is really incredible. I do not think I have ever been this close to a wild (un-injured) screech owl before though. Very cool.

Anyway, back to Abigale. She is doing better. She is still lethargic, but eatting well. I do not know if it was wishful thinking or not, but after her first round of sub-q fluids, she seems to be feeling better, and her spine and ribs don’t feel so painfully apparent tonight.

She got another dose of sub-q (with a smaller gauge needle), and some more dinner. Tonight’s entries featured grapes, hard dog food, and two eggs. She LOVES eggs! What opossum wouldn’t? I like adding eggs to her food just because they are such a balanced, nutrient rich food. That is something she desperately needs at the moment.

One of these days, I will invest in a scale specifically for my rehab animals. I would have loved to known what she weighed when I brought her home, and what she weighs now, just to make it easier to see if she is making progress.

Leave a Reply

