A glimps into the world of wildlife rehabilitation…the world through a rehabber's eyes.

Sweet Abigale feels better tonight


Abigale is much more active tonight. This is the first time that she has really reacted to having sub-q fluids. I will probably give her one last dose tomorrow depending on how she is.

I cover her head with a blanket while I am doing this just to help her feel more secure and calm. Most of the time she just sits and lets me do my thing. Tonight, she actually reacted to the fluids being administered for the first time. This is a good sign. It means she is feeling much better.

After, she poked her head out of the blanket to inspect my work. Her body condition has improved dramatically over the past few days. The points of her hips and spine are far less defined than they were three days ago, and her ribs now have an almost normal pad of flesh over them. Her apetite is really good. She eats every scrap of food I put infront of her, and I have been filling the bowl.

Tonight is more soaked dog food, fresh greens, a raw egg, some grapes, and carrot pieces. I expect the bowl will be empty by morning. I am glad she is eatting so well. She needs all the nutrition she can get. 

I still plan on worming her this weekend and then maybe it will be time for her to be wild again. She is almost ready!

Leave a Reply

