A glimps into the world of wildlife rehabilitation…the world through a rehabber's eyes.

Abigale is going to the Ranch


Tomorrow, I am getting up early to head to WCCR. I am taking Abigale with me. I will also be making a stop in Dallas to pick up one other from another rehabber.

The night I picked up Abigale, I suspected she may be blind. I tried to relocate her, and normally when we do this, they run as fast as their short little legs can take them into the nearest brushy patch. Abigale just sat there. I nudged her to encorage her to go, but she stayed. So, I picked her up, put her back in the kennel, and brought her home.

She is still really skinny, but the whole time she has been in my care, she has had a voracious appetite. Today, she didn’t touch any of her food. Normally, I feed her first thing when I get home (usually around midnight which just so happens to be the time when opossums are active). her diet has fairly consistantly included soaked dog food, fresh fruits and veggies, leafy greens, and  a raw egg. Today, not only did I not feed her at the usual time, but I gave her mainly leafy greens, a few grapes, and a handful of dry dog food, and no egg (far lower in protien and calories than what I normally provide). Maybe I am spoiling her….or maybe there is something wrong.

I have to wonder if she has vision problems, because if I do not disturb her sensitive wiskers, I can nearly touch her eye. This eye in particular seems to have issues. If you look at the photo carefully, the eye looks alittle dull and cloudy. She also usually tries to keep this eye to the wall.

Opossums are pretty non-agressive, so it doesn’t suprise me that she allows me to handle her (don’t try this at home, kids! Opossums may be docile, but they still have teeth, and they like to eat dead things. That means LOTS of bacteria in their mouths!).

She also still seems to have a few fleas. I de-fleaed her again tonight, just to play it safe. I tried to give her fluids, but I am having a hard time with it tonight for some reason. I am going to try again in a bit. When I get her to the ranch tomorrow, maybe I can get someone else to look her over and confirm wether or not she is blind, or vision compromised.

Either way, she will probably end up being soft released on the ranch grounds, so she will have food available in a regular location. She still needs some time to build up her strength, but she should do fine out there when the time comes.

I just hope her not eatting anything tonight isn’t a sign that there is something more seriously wrong with her.

Leave a Reply

